0

Gift Guide: Essays and Memoirs of 2020

If there’s one thing we can all agree on, it’s that 2020 has been tough on everyone. And with the holidays just around the corner, we’re hoping to make the added stress of choosing that perfect gift for a special someone a little bit easier with a series of gift guides.

Here at the Portobello Bookshop we love a good collection of essays and a memoir or three so here are our favourites from 2020. The beauty of the genre is that it can encompass all kinds of topics within a paragraph or two and that’s demonstrated by the variety of our list.

Jia Tolentino’s Trick Mirror is a thought-provoking collection of essays that’s been well-received by Zadie Smith amongst other critics, covering wide-ranging topics like pop culture, social media, religion, drugs and feminism. Funny Weather: Art in an Emergency by Olivia Laing collects the acclaimed writer and critic’s profiles, essays and articles on the topic of what art can do for the world.

In the Dream House: Winner of The Rathbones Folio Prize 2021 by Carmen Maria Machado

Published: 1st Oct '20
Paperback / softback
£9.99

A truly original and innovative memoir, it deals with the difficult subject matter of abuse in queer relationships in a nuanced way. Intense but worthwhile.

View Product

Something That May Shock and Discredit You by Daniel Mallory Ortberg

Published: 3rd Apr '20
Paperback / softback
£14.99

From the writer and podcast host of the Dear Prudence advice column, this is a fast-paced collection of personal essays that explores Ortberg’s transition through the lens of both pop culture and religion.

View Product

So Hormonal: A Collection of Essays on Hormones by Emily Horgan

Published: 20th Aug '20
Paperback / softback
£11.99

Perfect for anyone who has a body, this collection of essays explores the various roles that hormones play in our everyday lives. From periods to chronic illness, to transitioning and menopause, each contributor writes with refreshing honesty.

View Product

Fire Never Goes Out, The: A Memoir in Pictures by Noelle Stevenson

Published: 2nd Apr '20
Hardback
£16.99

Ever since 2011, Noelle Stevenson has been publishing a year in review article. Part comic, part musing, they reflect on the victories and defeats of their year, sometimes with brutal honesty. This book collects 9 consecutive years on paper for the first time. A must for fans of Nimona, She-Ra or Lumberjanes.

View Product

Wow, No Thank You.: The #1 New York Times Bestseller by Samantha Irby

Published: 2nd Apr '20
Paperback / softback
£9.99

Irby’s writing is consistently funny and in this newest collection of essays, she covers topics like anxiety, body image, marriage, small-town America, pop culture, and stepchildren to name just a few, in her classically self-deprecating, witty style. 

View Product

Approaching Eye Level by Vivian Gornick

Published: 20th Aug '20
Paperback / softback
£9.99

Reissued since its first publication in 1997, this is an intimate collection of personal essays on topics like loneliness, connection and New York City by critic and memoirist Gornick.

View Product

Strangers: Essays on the Human and Nonhuman by Rebecca Tamas

Published: 8th Oct '20
Paperback / softback
£12.99

A wide-ranging collection of essays focusing on the connection between humans and the ecological world, but drawing on varied inspirations from folklore to politics, to planets and fairgrounds.

View Product

Man's Place, A by Annie Ernaux, Tanya Leslie

Published: 28th Oct '20
Paperback / softback
£8.99

Fitzcarraldo Editions publish beautiful minimalist editions of literary works and this reissue of A Man’s Place, translated from its original French, is an unsentimental yet poignant portrait of the author’s father.

View Product

Solutions and Other Problems by Allie Brosh

Published: 24th Sep '20
Paperback / softback
£14.99

The follow-up to Hyperbole and a Half, Brosh’s hilarious first book, this graphic memoir includes funny childhood stories, essays on grief, and dwellings on the eccentricities of modern life, all in the author’s classic absurdist style.

View Product

Staff Recommendations

Join our newsletter!

Subscribe to our newsletter to receive updates from the shop, including advanced notice of upcoming events, author visits, exciting book arrivals, and more…