You Exist Too Much

Zaina Arafat

Format: Paperback / softback

Publisher: Brown Book Group, Little

Published: 18th Nov '21

£9.99

Set between the US and the Middle East, this is an electrifying coming-of-age story about love, identity and sexual desire against the backdrop of traditional values and religious views.

Have your books hand wrapped in our bespoke packaging with our kite sticker to tie it all together.

Description

‘Deeply compelling… sexy.’ Roxane Gay’Takes you on a dizzying tour of love addiction, rehab, homophobia, betrayal, obsession and the aching need for a mother’s unconditional love. At different times throughout, you’ll find the protagonist needy, reckless and selfish but also smart, intuitive and trapped between two cultures – because as we all know, humans are nothing if not complicated. Roxane is right: this deserves five stars.’ StylistTold in vignettes that flash between the US and the Middle East, Zaina Arafat’s powerful debut novel traces her protagonist’s progress from blushing teen to creative and confused adulthood.In Brooklyn, she moves into an apartment with her first serious girlfriend and tries to content herself with their comfortable relationship. Soon, her longings, so deeply hidden during her teenage years, explode out into reckless romantic encounters and obsessions with other people, which results in her seeking unconventional help to face her past traumas and current demons.As heard on Radio 2 Book Club, this captivating novel is perfect for readers who love Maggie Nelson and Garth Greenwell. Opening up the fantasies and desires of one young woman caught between cultural, religious and sexual identities, You Exist Too Much is a captivating story charting two of our most intense longings – for love, and a place to call home.What people are saying about You Exist Too Much:’Real and deliciously messy.’ Attitude’An elegantly written debut… A thought-provoking exploration of love and belonging, and how the two come together to create a sense of self.’ New European’Exquisitely written and crafted with a compelling lightness of touch.’ Living Magazine’A nuanced, sparky debut.’ Observer’A wonderfully written, queer, coming-of-age story.’ i newapaper’A novel of self-discovery following a Palestinian-American girl as she navigates queerness, love addiction and a series of tumultuous relationships.’ The Millions, One of the Most Anticipated Books of the Year’Powerful… With You Exist Too Much, Arafat announces herself as a provocative and insightful writer.’ Irish Times

Additional information

Weight 0.22 kg
Dimensions 26 × 126 × 196 mm
Page Count 272