When The World Was Ours: A book about finding hope in the darkest of times

Liz Kessler

Format: Hardback

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd

Published: 21st Jan '21

£12.99

A powerful, heart-breaking, ultimately redemptive novel about three childhood friends in 1930s Vienna whose fates are closely intertwined, even when their lives take very different courses.

Have your books hand wrapped in our bespoke packaging with our kite sticker to tie it all together.

Description

ONE MOMENT CAN CHANGE A LIFE FOREVER. ‘An exceptional read’ The Sunday Times ‘Vital glimmers of hope enlighten this profoundly poignant book’ Guardian A powerful and heart-breaking novel about three childhood friends living during the Second World War whose fates are closely intertwined, even when their lives take very different courses. Inspired by a true story, this is the perfect read for fans of The Book Thief and Anne Frank’s The Diary of a Young Girl.Vienna, 1936.Elsa, Leo and Max have always been best friends, a special team of three. Then the Nazis come. As a growing darkness descends around them, Leo and Elsa run for their lives, taking two very different paths across Europe. And Max, once their closest friend, now becomes the enemy as he is drawn into the Hitler Youth. Will the friends ever find their way back to each other? Will they want to? Inspired by a true story, WHEN THE WORLD WAS OURS is an extraordinary novel that is as powerful as it is heartbreaking, and shows how the bonds of love, family and friendship allow glimmers of hope to flourish, even in the most hopeless of times. Three friends. Two sides. One memory.

Additional information

Dimensions 23 × 135 × 216 mm
Page Count 320