Whale

Format:

Publisher:

Published: 19th Jan '23

£14.99

A sweeping, multi-generational tale blending fable, farce and fantasy. “A peerless work devoted to telling a powerful story and lauded for expanding Korean literature into new dimensions.”-The Hankyoreh

Have your books hand wrapped in our bespoke packaging with our logo sticker to tie it all together.

SKU: 9781787704336

Category:

Description

A sweeping, multi-generational tale blending fable, farce, and fantasy-a masterpiece of modern fiction perfect for fans of One Hundred Years of Solitude. A woman sells her daughter to a passing beekeeper for two jars of honey. A baby weighing fifteen pounds is born in the depths of winter but named “Girl of Spring”. A storm brings down the roof of a ramshackle restaurant to reveal a hidden fortune. These are just some of the events that set Cheon Myeong-kwan’s beautifully crafted, wild world in motion. Set in a remote village in South Korea, Whale follows the lives of its linked characters: Geumbok, who has been chasing an indescribable thrill ever since she first saw a whale crest in the ocean; her mute daughter, Chunhui, who communicates with elephants; and a one-eyed woman who controls honeybees with a whistle. Brimming with surprises and wicked humour, Whale is an adventure-satire of epic proportions, by one of international literature’s the most original voices.

Additional information

Dimensions 210 × 135 mm
Page Count