Tales of Japan: Traditional Stories of Monsters and Magic

Chronicle Books, Kotaro Chiba (illustrator)

Format: Hardback

Publisher: Chronicle Books

Published: 23-04-2019

£18.99

Traditional Japanese folktales come to life alongside contemporary illustration in this luxurious edition.

Gift Wrapping – our gift wrapping option will be back soon

Have your books hand wrapped in our bespoke tissue paper with our kite sticker to tie it all together.

Description

A goblin with no body and a monster with no face. A resourceful samurai and a faithful daughter. A spirit of the moon and a dragon king.This collection of 15 traditional Japanese folktales transports readers to a time of adventure and enchantment. Drawn from the works of folklorists Lafcadio Hearn and Yei Theodora Ozaki, these tales are by turns terrifying, exhilarating, and poetic.* Striking illustrations by contemporary Japanese artist Kotaro Chiba * Special gift edition features an embossed, textured case with metallic gold ink, and a satin ribbon page markerFans of Celtic Tales, Ghostly Tales, and Japanese Notebooks will love this book. This book is ideal for:* Fans of fairytales, folklore, or ghost stories* Anyone interested in Japan’s history and culture* People of Japanese heritage* Collectors of illustrated classics

Additional information

Dimensions 191 × 229 mm
Page Count 176