Stasi Winter: The gripping Cold War crime thriller

David Young

Format: Paperback / softback

Publisher: Zaffre

Published: 9th Jan '20

£7.99

In the depths of the Republic’s catastrophic winter, Major Karin Muller is called upon to stop a group of ‘escapers’ from crossing the frozen Ostee.

Have your books hand wrapped in our bespoke packaging with our kite sticker to tie it all together.

Description

IN EAST GERMANY, SOLVING A MURDER CAN GET YOU KILLED . . . A gripping and intelligent thriller set in East Germany, during the worst winter in one-hundred years. Perfect for fans of Tom Rob Smith, Phillip Kerr and Joseph Kanon. ____________________________________ In 1978 East Germany, nothing is as it seems. The state’s power is absolute, history is re-written, and the ‘truth’ is whatever the Stasi say it is. So when a woman’s murder is officially labelled ‘accidental death’, Major Karin Muller of the People’s Police is faced with a dilemma. To solve the crime, she must disregard the official version of events. But defying the Stasi means putting her own life – and the lives of her young family – in danger. As the worst winter in living memory holds Germany in its freeze, Muller must untangle a web of state secrets and make a choice: between truth and lies, justice and injustice, and, ultimately, life and death. Stunningly authentic and brimming with moral ambiguity, Stasi Winter is the thrilling new novel from the award-winning author of Stasi Child. ____________________________________ Praise for David Young: ‘Excellent’ The Times ‘Thrilling’ William Ryan ‘Masterful’ Daily Express ‘Fast-paced’ The Sun ‘Superb. Reminded me of Robert Harris at his best’ Mason Cross ‘Up there with Martin Cruz Smith and the other greats of the field’ Abir Mukherjee

Additional information

Weight 0.269 kg
Dimensions 21 × 129 × 198 mm
Page Count 368