Saboteur of Auschwitz, The: The Inspiring True Story of a British Soldier Held Prisoner in Auschwitz

Colin Rushton

Format: Paperback / softback

Publisher: Summersdale Publishers

Published: 11th Jul '19

£8.99

Forced to do hard labour, starved and savagely beaten, British soldier Arthur Dodd thought his life would end in Auschwitz. Determined to go down fighting, he risked his life to sabotage Nazi industrial work and alleviate the suffering of Jewish prisoners. This shocking true story presents the largely unknown story of the military POWs held there.

Gift Wrapping – our gift wrapping option will be back soon

Have your books hand wrapped in our bespoke tissue paper with our kite sticker to tie it all together.

Description

For fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, The Librarian of Auschwitz and The Choice, this is the incredible true story of a British soldier POW. In 1942, young British soldier Arthur Dodd was taken prisoner by the German Army and transported to Oswiecim in Polish Upper Silesia. The Germans gave it another name, now synonymous with mankind’s darkest hours. They called it Auschwitz. Forced to do hard labour, starved and savagely beaten, Arthur thought his life would end in Auschwitz. Determined to go down fighting, he sabotaged Nazi industrial work, risked his life to alleviate the suffering of the Jewish prisoners and aided a partisan group planning a mass break-out. This shocking true story sheds new light on the operations at the camp, exposes a hierarchy of prisoner treatment by the SS and presents the largely unknown story of the military POWs held there.

Additional information

Dimensions 129 × 198 mm
Page Count 288