Phone for the Fish Knives

Daisy Waugh

Format: Paperback / softback

Publisher: Brown Book Group, Little

Published: 11th Nov '21

£8.99

A deliciously entertaining comedic novel full of sharp insight, sly wit – and a smidgeon of murder. Perfect for fans of PG Wodehouse, Julian Fellowes and Agatha Christie.

Have your books hand wrapped in our bespoke packaging with our kite sticker to tie it all together.

Description

‘Daisy Waugh’s featherlight satires are as refreshing and uplifting as a glass of chilled vintage champagne. . . Imagine Agatha Christie on laughing gas’ TimesThe Todes are back, and they’re taking on Hollywood . . .When Hollywood wants to do a remake of the film that made Tode Hall famous, India and Egbert are delighted. They envisage a summer of free money and star-studded dinner parties ahead . . . But the Hall is soon overrun by wardrobe trucks and catering tents, and lusty, insecure actors squabbling about nudity clauses. When the movie’s producers threaten to sue over the exact colour of Tode Hall’s rolling lawns, India and Egbert realise that having a film crew on their doorstep isn’t such a breeze after all. With so many egos in one place things were bound to end badly, but no one would have predicted quite so literal a backstabbing . . .’A glorious satire on aristocratic manners and mores, with a smidgeon of murder thrown in, Waugh’s hilarious and entirely original twist on the country house murder mystery is ‘a perfect antidote to all the real-life craziness going on’ Daily MailPraise for the Todes ‘Ms. Waugh’s novel offers plenty of satire, several good laughs and many dark chuckles.’ Wall Street JournalWitty, well-written and determinedly entertaining . . . the perfect book for the staycation’ Catholic Herald’I couldn’t put it down’ Santa Montefiore’A delightful treat’ The Lady’Deliciously entertaining’ Andrew Wilson’An irresistible champagne bubble of pleasure and laughter’ Rachel Johnson’A perfect antidote to wintry gloom’ The Literary Review’What a triumph!’ Antonia Fraser’A masterclass in how to write a rollicking good read’ Sarah Vine’A jolly farce that never takes itself too seriously’ Red Magazine’Fizzles, crackles and sparkles’ Elizabeth Buchan’A work of sublime silliness’ Simon Brett’An effervescent madcap whodunnit’ Metro’A marvellous rollicking read’ Mary Killen’She’s skewered her targets brilliantly’ Imogen Edwards-Jones’This contemporary take on a golden age mystery is simply wonderful.’ Belfast Telegraph

Additional information

Weight 0.2 kg
Dimensions 28 × 124 × 196 mm
Page Count 304