Other Names for Love: ‘Exceptional’ Sunjeev Sahota

Taymour Soomro

Format: Hardback

Publisher: Vintage Publishing

Published: 7th Jul '22

£14.99

Have your books hand wrapped in our bespoke packaging with our kite sticker to tie it all together.

Description

Discover this hypnotic novel about a boy’s life-changing summer: an unmissable read for fans of Damon Galgut, Brandon Taylor and Hisham Matar. On the train from Karachi, as dusk begins to fall, Fahad’s dreams of his summer in London are fading. He is headed to Abad, the family’s feudal estate, where his father intends to toughen up his sensitive boy, to teach him about power, duty, family — to make him a man. Instead, over the course of one shimmering, indolent season, Fahad finds himself seduced by the wildness of the land and by the people he meets: those who revere and revile his father; cousin Mousey, who lives alone with a man he calls his manager; and Ali, a teenager like him, whose presence threatens to unearth all that is hidden. Other Names for Love is a truly exceptional novel: a luminous tale of memory and desire, inheritance and love, and the search for a sense of home. Written with urgency and unusual beauty, it marks the arrival of a stunning new voice in fiction.’Such a deftly told and evocative story of duty, masculinity and desire’ KAMILA SHAMSIE, author of Home Fire

Additional information

Weight 0.377 kg
Dimensions 26 × 144 × 222 mm
Page Count 256