Most Fun We Ever Had, The: Longlisted for the Women’s Prize for Fiction 2020

Claire Lombardo

Format: Paperback / softback

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co

Published: 9th Jul '20

£8.99

‘The literary love child of Jonathan Franzen and Anne Tyler’ Observer’A gripping and poignant ode to a messy, loving family in all its glory’ Madeline Miller’Should appeal to fans of Maria Semple, Emma Straub and Jennifer Egan’ Sunday Times’The perfect, engrossing holiday read’ Red

Have your books hand wrapped in our bespoke packaging with our kite sticker to tie it all together.

Description

LONGLISTED FOR THE WOMEN’S PRIZE FOR FICTION 2020 THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER ‘A literary love child of Jonathan Franzen and Anne Tyler … outstanding and highly enjoyable’ Observer ‘As good as Jonathan Franzen’s The Corrections or Jennifer Egan’s A Visit from the Goon Squad; it is almost impossible to believe that it is a debut. The Most Fun We Ever Had is as good as books come’ Telegraph’I loved this book’ Bryony Gordon’The perfect, engrossing holiday read’ RED MEET THE SORENSON FAMILY MARILYN has somehow fallen into motherhood and spent four decades married to DAVID, who’s pretty certain he loves her more than anyone has ever loved another person. WENDY, their eldest, a cause for concern, soothes herself with drink after being widowed young, while VIOLET, lawyer-turned-stay-at-home-mother, is disturbed by the reappearance of a son placed for adoption fifteen years earlier. LIZA, a professor, is pregnant with a baby she’s not sure she wants by a man she’s not sure she loves and GRACE, their dawdling youngest daughter, lives a lie that no one in her family suspects. ‘A gripping and poignant ode to a messy, loving family in all its glory’ Madeline Miller’A moving, immersive, often very funny study of family and sisterhood’ Sunday Times ‘Like Meg Wolitzer. A forensic dissection of family past and present, I loved it. If you like reading about relationships, this one is for you.’ Pandora Sykes

Additional information

Weight 0.375 kg
Dimensions 36 × 128 × 196 mm
Page Count 544