Maid’s Disgrace, The: A gripping and romantic Victorian saga from the bestselling author

Emma Hornby

Format: Paperback / softback

Publisher: Transworld Publishers Ltd

Published: 29th Apr '21

£6.99

Have your books hand wrapped in our bespoke packaging with our kite sticker to tie it all together.

Description

**Don’t miss Emma Hornby’s first WWII saga, HER WARTIME SECRET – available now**—————————-Manchester, 1842Phoebe Parsons is a liar…a shameless harlot with unscrupulous morals…Phoebe Parsons is destitute, disgraced, and alone. After her mistress tragically dies, Phoebe is forced back onto the poverty-ridden streets of Manchester by her unforgiving new master. Desperately searching for work as a domestic maid, Phoebe soon discovers her reputation is in ruins.Fearing for her future and haunted by the harshness of her abandonment, Phoebe finds herself living with thieves and drunks in the smog and squalor – until she meets Victor Hayes. An officer removed from his duty and shamed by a cruel lie, Mr Hayes is a kind face among the uncertain threats of living in the alleyways. But Phoebe soon realises the sacrifices she must make to rebuild from the ground up…As their two worlds collide, can they make a new life from the wreckage? Or will the judgement of their peers make a pauper of Phoebe?A gritty and page-turning historical saga from the bestselling author of A Shilling for a Wife, perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Rosie Goodwin.—————————-Readers love Emma Hornby:’Similar to Rosie Goodwin and Dilly Court, Emma Hornby tells a brilliant story that will keep you guessing with twists and turns. Pure talent.”Emma Hornby’s books just keep getting better and better. Honest, gritty, lovely characters.”Keep writing Emma, you are very talented and can’t wait for your next book. I’ve read them all.”Emma is a wonderful storyteller and I can’t wait for the next one!”Thank you again Emma Hornby for a captivating read”Another beautifully written story by Emma Hornby’

Additional information

Weight 0.278 kg
Dimensions 25 × 129 × 198 mm
Page Count 400