Last Ones Left Alive: The ‘fiercely feminist, highly imaginative debut’ – Observer

Sarah Davis-Goff

Format: Hardback

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group

Published: 07-03-2019

£12.99

For fans of THE END WE START FROM and STATION 11, a brilliantly original imagining of a young woman’s journey to discover her true identity, set in a post-apocalyptic Ireland

Gift Wrapping – our gift wrapping option will be back soon

Have your books hand wrapped in our bespoke tissue paper with our kite sticker to tie it all together.

Description

*AN IRISH TIMES BOOK OF THE YEAR*’You’ll be terrified, fascinated and above all, uplifted by Orpen – a heroine to rival Philip Pullman’s Lyra or The Passage’s Amy’ Stylist’Fiercely feminist, highly imaginative’ ObserverRaised by her mother and Maeve on Slanbeg, an island off the west coast of Ireland, Orpen has a childhood of love and stories by the fireside. But the stories grow darker, and the training begins. Ireland has been devoured by a ravening menace known as the skrake, and though Slanbeg is safe for now, the women must always be ready to run, or to fight.When Maeve is bitten, Orpen is faced with a dilemma: kill Maeve before her transformation is complete, or try to get help. So Orpen sets off, with Maeve in a wheelbarrow and her dog at her side, in the hope of finding other survivors, and a cure. It is a journey that will test Orpen to her limits, on which she will learn who she really is, who she really loves, and how to imagine a future in a world that ended before she was born.

Additional information

Weight 0.402 kg
Dimensions 23 × 157 × 198 mm
Page Count 288