Jollof Rice and Other Revolutions

Omolola Ijeoma Ogunyemi

Format: Hardback

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co

Pre-order - This hardback title is not yet published, due

£16.99

For fans of Girl, Woman, Other and Homegoing, Jollof Rice and Other Revolutions follows the lives of a generation of Nigerian women, exploring their identity and experience, within Nigeria and the US, through a set of interlocking stories

Have your books hand wrapped in our bespoke packaging with our kite sticker to tie it all together.

SKU: 9781398706057

Category:

Description

Nonso, Remi, Aisha, and Solape forge an unbreakable bond at a Nigerian boarding school, where we meet them for the first time in the middle of a riot. The uprising triggers a chain of unforeseen events, forever altering their lives. Through a set of interlocking stories – traversing seamlessly through different voices between Nigeria and the US – Jollof Rice and Other Revolutions provides a window into the past, present, and future for a generation of Nigerian women. We meet Solape’s mother, whose life was irrevocably altered by the fallout of the school riot years before. We see Nonso grapple with the world outside Nigeria when she moves to America having fallen in love with an African-American man. We meet Remi’s future husband, Segun, in the Bronx as he becomes entangled with the police. Meanwhile, Aisha’s overwhelming sense of guilt about what happened the night of the riot haunts her, until she sees a chance to save her son’s life and, through her sacrifice, redefine her own.

Additional information

Weight 440 kg
Dimensions 236 × 158 × 26 mm
Book Author

Book Type

Publisher

Page Count