Irreplaceable: The fight to save our wild places

Julian Hoffman

Format: Paperback / softback

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd

Published: 9th Apr '20

£9.99

Have your books hand wrapped in our bespoke packaging with our kite sticker to tie it all together.

Description

Lose yourself in the beauty of nature this winter…A ROYAL GEOGRAPHICAL SOCIETY BOOK OF THE YEAR 2020For readers of George Monbiot, Isabella Tree and Robert Macfarlane – an urgent and lyrical account of endangered places around the globe and the people fighting to save them.’Powerful, timely, beautifully written and wonderfully hopeful’ Rob Cowen, author of Common GroundAll across the world, irreplaceable habitats are under threat. Unique ecosystems of plants and animals are being destroyed by human intervention. From the tiny to the vast, from marshland to meadow, and from Kent to Glasgow to India to America, they are disappearing.Irreplaceable is a love letter to the haunting beauty of these landscapes and their wild species. Exploring coral reefs and remote mountains, tropical jungle, ancient woodland and urban allotments, it traces the stories of threatened places through local communities, grassroots campaigners, ecologists and academics.Julian Hoffman’s rigorous, impassioned account is a timely reminder of the vital connections between humans and nature – and all that we stand to lose. It is a powerful call to arms in the face of unconscionable natural destruction.*****’A terrific book, prescient, serious and urgent’ Amy Liptrot, author of The Outrun’Unforgettable. At a time when the Earth often seems broken beyond repair, this courageous and hopeful book offers life-changing encounters with the more-than-human world’ Nancy Campbell, author of The Library of Ice’Wonderful, tender and subtle, beautifully written and filled with a calm authority’ Adam Nicolson, author of The Seabird’s Cry*Highly Commended Finalist for the Wainwright Prize for Writing on Global Conservation 2020*

Additional information

Weight 0.292 kg
Dimensions 30 × 130 × 200 mm
Page Count 416