How We Disappeared: LONGLISTED FOR THE WOMEN’S PRIZE FOR FICTION 2020

Jing-Jing Lee

Format: Hardback, Paperback / softback

Publisher: Oneworld Publications

Published: 06-02-2020

£8.99

A beautiful, stunningly ambitious tale of endurance, identity, and memory, for fans of Min Jin Lee’s Pachinko and Georgia Hunter’s We Were the Lucky Ones.

Gift Wrapping – our gift wrapping option will be back soon

Have your books hand wrapped in our bespoke tissue paper with our kite sticker to tie it all together.

Description

Shortlisted for the 2020 Singapore Literature Prize Longlisted for the HWA Debut Crown Singapore, 1942. As Japanese troops sweep down Malaysia and into Singapore, a village is ransacked. Only three survivors remain, one of them a tiny child. In a neighbouring village, seventeen-year-old Wang Di is bundled into the back of a troop carrier and shipped off to a Japanese military rape camp. In the year 2000, her mind is still haunted by her experiences there, but she has long been silent about her memories of that time. It takes twelve-year-old Kevin, and the mumbled confession he overhears from his ailing grandmother, to set in motion a journey into the unknown to discover the truth. Weaving together two timelines and two life-changing secrets, How We Disappeared is an evocative, profoundly moving and utterly dazzling novel heralding the arrival of a new literary star.

Additional information

Dimensions 26 × 129 × 198 mm
Page Count 352