Golem and the Djinni, The

Helene Wecker

Format: Paperback / softback

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers

Published: 01-01-2014

£9.99

‘One of only two novels I’ve ever loved whose main characters are not human’BARBARA KINGSOLVER For fans of The Essex Serpentand The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock. ‘By far my favourite book of of the year’ Guardian

Gift Wrapping – our gift wrapping option will be back soon

Have your books hand wrapped in our bespoke tissue paper with our kite sticker to tie it all together.

Description

‘One of only two novels I’ve ever loved whose main characters are not human’BARBARA KINGSOLVER For fans of The Essex Serpentand The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock. ‘By far my favourite book of of the year’ Guardian One cold night, two newcomers emerge onto the streets of 1899 New York, and it is never the same again. But these two are more than strangers to this land, they are strangers to this world. From the depths of folkloric history come Chava the golem, a creature made of clay, brought to life by a disgraced rabbi and Ahmad, a djinni, born in the ancient Syrian desert and trapped in an old copper flask released accidentally by a tinsmith in a Lower Manhattan shop. Two companions who were never meant to be released, and never meant to meet. And when they do, their opposing natures will be sealed by a special bond, but one that is threatened by watching eyes, roaming owners and a misunderstanding world. A glittering gem of a novel, as spell-binding as it is compelling, The Golem and The Djinniasks us what we’re made of and how we can break free.

Additional information

Weight 0.46 kg
Dimensions 41 × 129 × 198 mm
Page Count 656