Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea, The: the New York Times bestselling magical fantasy

Axie Oh

Format: Hardback

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton

Published: 22nd Feb '22

£16.99

The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea is a magical feminist retelling of a classic Korean legend, perfect for fans of Uprooted and Miyazaki’s Spirited Away.

Have your books hand wrapped in our bespoke packaging with our kite sticker to tie it all together.

Description

Don’t chase fate. Let fate chase you.’Clever, creative, and exquisitely written’ Stephanie GarberFor generations, deadly storms have ravaged Mina’s homeland. Her people believe the Sea God, once their protector, now curse them with death and despair. To appease him, each year a maiden is thrown into the sea, in the hopes that one day the ‘true bride’ will be chosen and end the suffering.Many believe Shim Cheong – Mina’s brother’s beloved – to be the legendary true bride. But on the night Cheong is sacrificed, Mina’s brother follows her, even knowing that to interfere is a death sentence. To save her brother, Mina throws herself into the water in Cheong’s stead.Swept away to the Spirit Realm, a magical city of lesser gods and mythical beasts, Mina finds the Sea God, trapped in an enchanted sleep. With the help of a mysterious young man and a motley crew of demons, gods and spirits, Mina sets out to wake him and bring an end to the storms once and for all.But she doesn’t have much time: a human cannot live long in the land of the spirits. And there are those who would do anything to keep the Sea God from waking . . .The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea is a magical feminist retelling of a classic Korean legend, perfect for fans of Uprooted and Miyazaki’s Spirited Away.’A beautiful, mesmerizing retelling’ Elizabeth Lim, New York Times bestselling author of Six Crimson Cranes’A true jewel of a story’ Janella Angeles, bestselling author of Where Dreams Descend

Additional information

Weight 0.553 kg
Dimensions 36 × 158 × 236 mm
Page Count 336