Exciting Times: THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER and shortlisted for the An Post Irish Book Awards 2020

Naoise Dolan

Format: Hardback

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co

Published: 16-04-2020

£14.99

* ‘Droll, shrewd and unafraid – a winning debut’ Hilary Mantel ** ‘Fiercely intelligent, brutally funny’ Nathan Filer ** A Stylist ‘Best new book for 2020’ *Naoise Dolan explodes onto the scene with Exciting Times, a slyly humorous and scorchingly smart modern love story about three cynics in Hong Kong

Gift Wrapping – our gift wrapping option will be back soon

Have your books hand wrapped in our bespoke tissue paper with our kite sticker to tie it all together.

SKU: 9781474613446

Categories: ,

Description

‘The book of the summer … Kept me rapt until the final page’ THE TIMES ‘A sharp, smart, witty modern love story. I loved it’ David Nicholls, author of ONE DAY’More than lives up to the hype … Likely to fill the Sally-Rooney-shaped hole in many readers’ lives’ IRISH TIMES’Droll, shrewd and unafraid – a winning debut’ Hilary Mantel, author of WOLF HALL’I’ve been pushing Exciting Times on everyone I know. Some of Dolan’s pithy observations of her characters are the best I’ve read since Edward St Aubyn’ OBSERVER’A frankly sensational book’ Pandora Sykes on THE HIGH LOW’In the tradition of Dorothy Parker, Joan Rivers and Nora Ephron … I found myself purring with pleasure. …This is comic writing at the highest level’ Craig Brown, DAILY MAILWhen you leave Ireland aged 22 to spend your parents’ money, it’s called a gap year. When Ava leaves Ireland aged 22 to make her own money, she’s not sure what to call it, but it involves: – a badly-paid job in Hong Kong, teaching English grammar to rich children; – Julian, who likes to spend money on Ava and lets her move into his guest room; – Edith, who Ava meets while Julian is out of town and actually listens to her when she talks; – money, love, cynicism, unspoken feelings and unlikely connections. Exciting times ensue.

Additional information

Weight 0.407 kg
Dimensions 30 × 138 × 218 mm
Page Count 288