Do Something For Nothing

Joshua Coombes

Format: Hardback

Publisher: Murdoch Books

Published: 27th May '21

£16.99

Based on the grassroots movement and Netflix film hosted by Morgan Freeman, this is a beautiful, moving and inspiring collection of photographs capturing the stories behind those living on the streets across the globe.

Have your books hand wrapped in our bespoke packaging with our kite sticker to tie it all together.

SKU: 9781911632160

Categories: ,

Description

For fans of Humans Of New York and The Pursuit of Happyness.’A big-hearted and world-shaking idea’ – Nick Cave ‘Turn a common, everyday act into something potentially transformative.’ – Michael Sheen’Moving and inspiring’ – Johann Hari’Small acts of love can make a big impact.’ – Morgan Freeman When you’re on the fringes of society, being recognised can mean everything.In 2015, while working at a London hair salon, Joshua Coombes took to the streets with his scissors to build relationships with people sleeping rough in the capital, and began posting transformative images on social media to amplify their voices. These stories resonated and thousands of people got involved in their own way. From this, #DoSomethingForNothing was born – a movement that encourages people to contribute their skills and time to those who need it. This book explores themes of love, acceptance, shame and perseverance, while inviting us to see ourselves in one another and challenge the negative stigmas surrounding homelessness. Through the simple act of a haircut, Joshua takes you on a journey into the lives of people experiencing homelessness in different cities across the world.Featuring before-and-after photographs, street art and stories, this book is an inspiring and uplifting account of one man’s experiences with people who have more in common with all of us than you might imagine. A portion of the proceeds from this book will be donated to organisations dedicated to assisting unsheltered people, as well as supporting future not-for-profit art projects.

Additional information

Dimensions 152 × 229 mm
Page Count 224