Death in August: Book One

Marco Vichi, Stephen Sartarelli

Format: Paperback / softback

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton

Published: 01-09-2011

£9.99

Crime packed with Italian flavour – the first in a series featuring Inspector Bordelli, a police detective in 1960s Florence

Gift Wrapping – our gift wrapping option will be back soon

Have your books hand wrapped in our bespoke tissue paper with our kite sticker to tie it all together.

Description

Crime fiction packed with Italian flavour, Death in August is the first Inspector Bordelli mystery set in 1960s’ Florence – perfect for fans of Andrea Camilleri or Donna Leon.Florence, summer 1963. Inspector Bordelli is one of the few policemen left in the deserted city. He spends his days on routine work, and his nights tormented by the heat and mosquitoes.Suddenly one night, a telephone call gives him a new sense of purpose: the suspected death of a wealthy Signora. Bordelli rushes to her hilltop villa, and picks the locks. The old woman is lying on her bed – apparently killed by an asthma attack, though her medicine has been left untouched.With the help of his young protege, the victim’s eccentric brother, and a semi-retired petty thief, the inspector begins a murder investigation. Each suspect has a solid alibi, but there is something that doesn’t quite add up . . .

Additional information

Weight 0.174 kg
Dimensions 17 × 132 × 199 mm
Page Count 240