Crossed Out Notebook, The

Megan McDowell, Nicolas Giacobone

Format: Paperback / softback

Publisher: Brown Book Group, Little

Published: 5th Nov '20

£8.99

From the Academy Award-winning co-writer of Birdman, a wonderfully eccentric, suspenseful debut in the tradition of Misery and Kiss of the Spiderwoman about a screenwriter kidnapped by a world-famous director who orders him to compose a masterpiece.

Gift Wrapping

During lockdown most books will come direct from our distributors to you, and so we are unable to offer Gift Wrapping currently. However, normally you can have your books hand wrapped in our bespoke tissue paper with our kite sticker to tie it all together. We’ll bring this service back as soon as we can!

Description

‘This stylish debut novel by an Oscar-winning Argentine screenwriter (he co-wrote Birdman) is a suspenseful, darkly funny exploration of the creative process and the porous boundary between reality and fiction. Highly recommended’ The Mail on Sunday, ‘The Best New Fiction’From the Academy Award-winning co-writer of Birdman, a wonderfully eccentric, suspenseful debut in the tradition of Misery and Kiss of the Spiderwoman about a screenwriter kidnapped by a world-famous director who orders him to compose a masterpiece.Pablo, a failed Argentine novelist-turned-screenwriter, has been kidnapped by the greatest Latin American film director of all time and is kept in a basement where he works, day after day, on what he is told must at all costs be a great, world-changing screenplay. Every night, after finishing work on the script, Pablo writes in his notebook and every morning he crosses out what he wrote the night before. The Crossed-Out Notebook is Pablo’s diary of this time: being brought food by a maid; being threatened with a gun; vociferously arguing with the director about what he’s written the previous day.The clash between the two men and their different approaches leads to a movie being made, a gun going off, an unlikely escape, and a final confrontation. In the end, The Crossed-Out Notebook is a darkly funny novel full of intrigue and surprise about the essence of the creative process; a short, crazy ode to any artist whose brilliance shines through strangeness and adversity.

Additional information

Weight 0.2 kg
Dimensions 20 × 126 × 196 mm
Page Count 256