Clearing, The: A memoir of art, family and mental health

Samantha Clark

Format: Hardback

Publisher: Brown Book Group, Little

Published: 05-03-2020

£14.99

A powerful memoir about mental illness and grief, interspersed with meditations on nature, philosophy, literature and science. For fans of The Lonely City and The Outrun.

Gift Wrapping – our gift wrapping option will be back soon

Have your books hand wrapped in our bespoke tissue paper with our kite sticker to tie it all together.

SKU: 9781408711958

Categories: ,

Description

This house has been a regular presence in my life for as long as I can remember. My heart has sunk a little every time I walk in . . .Samantha Clark enjoyed a busy career as an artist before returning home to Glasgow to take care of the house that her parents had left behind. Moving from room to room, sifting through the clutter of belongings, reflecting on her mother’s long, sedated years of mental illness and her father’s retreat to the world of amateur radio and model planes, Samantha began to contemplate her inheritance.A need for creativity and a desire for solitude had sprung up from a childhood shaped by anxiety and confusion. Weaving in the works and lives of others, including celebrated painter Agnes Martin and scientist of dark matter Vera Rubin, The Clearing is a powerful account of what we must do with the things we cannot know.’Samantha Clark writes on the subtle edge of words and thought. She renders the world within and the world of ideas with electric sensitivity and acute intelligence’ Jay Griffiths

Additional information

Weight 0.32 kg
Dimensions 22 × 138 × 218 mm
Page Count 208