Chestnut Man, The: The chilling and suspenseful thriller soon to be a major Netflix series

Caroline Waight, Soren Sveistrup

Format: Hardback

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd

Published: 10th Jan '19

£12.99

Description

THE GRIPPING DEBUT NOVEL FROM THE CREATOR AND WRITER OF HIT TV SHOW THE KILLING’***** Brilliant. Scandi noir is back with a bang with this sensational debut novel. The Stieg Larsson comparisons seem unfair – on Sveistrup. He’s quite simply in another league’ Metro_____________One blustery October morning in a quiet Copenhagen suburb, the police make a terrible discovery. A young woman is found brutally murdered with one of her hands missing. Above her hangs a small doll made of chestnuts. Ambitious young detective Naia Thulin is assigned the case. Her partner, Mark Hess, is a burned-out investigator who’s just been kicked out of Europol. They soon discover a mysterious piece of evidence on the chestnut man – evidence connecting it to a girl who went missing a year earlier and is presumed dead; the daughter of politician Rosa Hartung. But the man who confessed to her murder is already behind bars and the case long since closed. Soon afterwards, a second woman is found murdered, along with another chestnut man. Thulin and Hess suspect that there’s a connection between the Hartung case and the murdered women. But what is it?Thulin and Hess are racing against the clock, because it’s clear that the killer is on a mission that is far from over . . . Fans of The Killing, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and Jo Nesbo will love this debut thriller. _____________’A full-throttle thriller in the tradition of classic Stieg Larsson, drenched in atmosphere and charged with adrenaline. I loved this book’ A. J. Finn, author of The Woman In The Window’***** This has success written all over it’ Daily Express’Creepy, clever and packed with tension’ Sun’If you’re pining for a dose of Jo Nesbo-style Scandi noir, this should hit the spot. The twisty, tricksy storyline gathers an unstoppable momentum so that 500 pages disappear in a trice’ The Times’This might just be the thriller of the year’ Jeffery Deaver, bestselling author of The Bone Collector Featured in BBC Top Fiction Picks of 2019, Guardian Books of 2019, Evening Standard Best Books of 2019 & Inside Soap’s Hot List.LONGLISTED FOR A CWA DAGGER AWARD FOR THE BEST FIRST NOVEL_____________Praise for The Killing: ‘Soren Sveistrup, is clearly a master craftsman’ Telegraph ‘TV of the absolute finest quality . . . the writing shines’ Guardian ‘Excellent . . . A shrewd mix of police procedural, political thriller and domestic drama’ New York Times ‘The most talked-about, boxset-friendly cultural landmarks of the 21st century to date’ Independent

Additional information

Weight 0.806 kg
Dimensions 43 × 162 × 240 mm
Page Count 512