Captive, The: The most captivating high-concept thriller of the year

Deborah O'Connor

Format: Hardback, Paperback / softback

Publisher: Bonnier Zaffre

Published: 07-01-2021

£14.99

Jem, whose whole world is now confined to a few square feet – or Hannah, whose responsibility it is to look after her husband’s killer? As Hannah and Jem settle into their strange new situation, they begin to get used to their new routines.

Gift Wrapping – our gift wrapping option will be back soon

Have your books hand wrapped in our bespoke tissue paper with our kite sticker to tie it all together.

Description

A brilliant, high concept, intensely gripping thriller perfect for fans of THE SILENT PATIENT, THE CAPTIVE will keep you guessing till the very end . . . ‘Ingenious. A smart, pacy and highly entertaining thriller’ T.M. Logan ______________________ Hannah knows the cage intimately. Small, the size of a shopping centre parking space. A bed, a basin, a table and chair. A hatch and metal drawer through which to exchange food and other items. Then there’s him. Always there on the edges of her vision, no matter how hard she tries to block him out. Every day, the same thoughts run through Hannah’s mind: What if he speaks to me? What if he hurts me? What if he gets out? ______________________ Everyone is talking about Deborah O’ Connor and THE CAPTIVE… ‘Oh my god, its FANTASTIC! Highly original, thrilling and emotional, The Captive is set to be one of the best books of 2021. I ADORED it’ JO SPAIN ‘The perfect concept. The perfect execution. The perfect book’ GILLIAN MCALLISTER ‘Stunning. Staggeringly original, chilling, electrifying. I raced through the final chapters with my heart in my mouth’ CHRIS WHITAKER, author of We Begin at the End ‘Killer concept, brilliantly realised and beautifully, satisfyingly plotted. I loved it’ AMANDA MASON ‘A page-turning, hair-raising, high-concept thriller. From the thought-provoking premise to the riveting final chapters, this one will keep me thinking for a while’ INGA VESPER ‘A great concept. I loved the way Deborah wove the enjoyably complex strands together and made me care hugely about Hannah and her life. Impressive, compelling storytelling as well as a fantastic mystery’ GYTHA LODGE ‘Original, deft, and clever, The Captive certainly had me in its vice-like grip throughout’ PHOEBE MORGAN ‘Dark and unpredictable’ JENNY QUINTANA on The Dangerous Kind ‘One of the best page-turners around’ GLAMOUR on The Dangerous Kind ‘Gritty, gripping and timely’ HEAT on The Dangerous Kind ‘Dark, uncompromising but full of heart. It gave me goosebumps’ HOLLY SEDDON on The Dangerous Kind ‘Tense right from the first pitch black scene’ AMY LLOYD on The Dangerous Kind ‘Great concept, silky prose & originality oozing off every page’ EVA DOLAN on The Dangerous Kind ‘Terrifyingly plausible . . . One of the thrillers of the year’ MARTYN WAITES on The Dangerous Kind

Additional information

Weight 0.648 kg
Dimensions 37 × 162 × 240 mm
Page Count 416