Boy I Am, The

K. L. Kettle

Format: Paperback / softback

Publisher: Little Tiger Press Group

Published: 7th Jan '21

£7.99

In the House of Boys, young men are auctioned off to the female elite. Sixteen-year-old Jude wants more than this, but how far is he prepared to go for a chance of freedom?

Gift Wrapping – our gift wrapping option will be back soon

Have your books hand wrapped in our bespoke tissue paper with our kite sticker to tie it all together.

Description

They say we’re dangerous. But we’re not that different. Jude is running out of time. Once a year, lucky young men in the House of Boys are auctioned to the female elite. But if Jude fails to be selected before he turns seventeen, a future deep underground in the mines awaits. Yet ever since the death of his best friend at the hands of the all-powerful Chancellor, Jude has been desperate to escape the path set out for him. Finding himself entangled in a plot to assassinate the Chancellor, he finally has a chance to avenge his friend and win his freedom. But at what price? A speculative YA thriller, tackling themes of traditional gender roles and power dynamics, for fans of Malorie Blackman, Louise O’Neill and THE POWER. “Brutal, uncompromising and edge-of-your-seat action all the way through” – Alex Bell, author of FROZEN CHARLOTTE “The best kind of up-all-night dystopian YA, thought-provoking, different and above all, an extraordinarily exciting story, whose main character, Jude, will stay with me for a very long time” Lucy Coats “It’s a gutsy, intelligent, tension-building tale. A bit Handmaid’s Tale, a bit Mad Max, and a creature all its own.” Sinead O’Hart, author of THE EYE OF THE NORTH “Mind blowingly good. Love it. It’s going to get readers thinking.” Dr Vanessa Harbour “A dark, thought-provoking dystopian that is gorgeously written too” Amy McCaw, author of MINA AND THE UNDEAD “It’s so gripping and tense and thought-provoking” Ben Oliver, author of THE LOOP

Additional information

Dimensions 129 × 198 mm
Page Count 384