Blue Ticket

Sophie Mackintosh

Format: Hardback

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd

£12.99

Gift Wrapping

During lockdown most books will come direct from our distributors to you, and so we are unable to offer Gift Wrapping currently. However, normally you can have your books hand wrapped in our bespoke tissue paper with our kite sticker to tie it all together. We’ll bring this service back as soon as we can!

Description

A gripping, devastating feminist read from one of the hottest young novelists working in the UK today – for fans of Deborah Levy, Ottessa Moshfegh and Daisy JohnsonMan Booker Prize-longlisted author of The Water CureRECOMMENDED READING FOR 2020 by Stylist, Evening Standard, Esquire, Red, Daily Mail, Oprah Magazine, LitHub, and Emma Roberts’s Belletrist Book Club’The cool intensity and strange beauty of Blue Ticket is a wonder – be sure to read everything Sophie Mackintosh writes’ Deborah Levy, author of Hot Milk’Definitely don’t miss the return of Sophie Mackintosh… She’s amazing’ Stylist, Best Reads of Autumn 2020Calla knows how the lottery works. Everyone does. On the day of your first bleed, you report to the station to learn what kind of woman you will be. A white ticket grants you children. A blue ticket grants you freedom. You are relieved of the terrible burden of choice. And, once you’ve taken your ticket, there is no going back. But what if the life you’re given is the wrong one? Blue Ticket is a devastating enquiry into free will and the fraught space of motherhood. Bold and chilling, it pushes beneath the skin of female identity and patriarchal violence, to the point where human longing meets our animal bodies.’Dreamlike, tense, compelling, [with] a pitch-perfect ending’ The New York Times ‘Gripping, ethereal, atmospheric’ Sunday Times’Thoughtful and haunting’ Observer’Terrifying and enchanting in equal measure’ LitHub’Blue Ticket will worms its way under your skin and haunt your dreams’ Red

Additional information

Weight 0.422 kg
Dimensions 30 × 144 × 222 mm
Page Count