Blue in Chicago: And Other Stories

Bette Howland

Format: Hardback

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

Published: 09-07-2020

£12.99

The bittersweet, sharply observed stories in Blue in Chicago introduce British readers for the first time to Bette Howland, a forgotten great of twentieth-century American fiction, perfect for fans of Lucia Berlin, Lydia Davis and Alice Munroe.

Gift Wrapping – our gift wrapping option will be back soon

Have your books hand wrapped in our bespoke tissue paper with our kite sticker to tie it all together.

SKU: 9781529035827

Category:

Description

‘One of the significant writers of her generation.’ Saul Bellow’Her prose is cooler than a cocktail and sharper than a Japanese knife . . . Nora Ephron meets Lorrie Moore, which is about as good as it gets.’ Observer’We should be glad to have her back . . . Howland has the pinpoint vision that can make any sentence into a jewel’ The Times’Beautifully bittersweet . . . funny, ruefully poetic and effortlessly perceptive’ Daily MailBlue in Chicago collects together the sharp, bittersweet stories of Bette Howland and restores to our bookshelves an extraordinarily gifted writer, who was recognized as a major talent before all but disappearing from public view completely, until nearly the end of her life. Bette Howland was an outsider: an intellectual from a working-class neighborhood in Chicago; a divorcee and single mother, to the disapproval of her family; an artist chipped away at by poverty and perfection. Each of these sides of her life plays a shaping role in her work. Mining her most precarious struggles for her art in each of these stories, she chronicles the fears and hopes of her generation.Blue in Chicago, and other stories introduces UK readers to a wry, brilliant observer and a writer of great empathy and sly, joyous humor. Published in the US under the title Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage.’Remarkable . . . Captivating writing: rhythmic, alert, empathetic . . . I haven’t enjoyed another book more this year.’ Telegraph’Profound . . . To read Bette Howland is to be handed a gift you didn’t know you needed.’ Irenosen Okojie, author of Nudibranch

Additional information

Weight 0.488 kg
Dimensions 30 × 135 × 216 mm
Page Count 336