Ariadne: The gripping tale of a mythic heroine seen through modern eyes

Jennifer Saint

Format: Paperback / softback

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group

Published: 30th Dec '21

£8.99

In one of the most famous Greek myths, Ariadne betrayed her father, King Minos, to help Theseus defeat the Minotaur. But Theseus in turn betrayed her. This is her story.

Have your books hand wrapped in our bespoke packaging with our kite sticker to tie it all together.

Description

A mesmerising retelling of the ancient Greek myth of Theseus and the Minotaur. Perfect for fans of CIRCE, A SONG OF ACHILLES, and THE SILENCE OF THE GIRLS.’A lyrical, insightful re-telling’ – Daily Mail’If you like Madeline Miller’s Circe and Song of Achilles, you will eat up Ariadne [. . .] Saint makes it a page-turner’ – GlamourAriadne, Princess of Crete and daughter of the fearsome King Minos, grows up hearing stories of gods and heroes. But beneath the golden palace something else stirs, the hoofbeats and bellows echoing from the Labyrinth below. Every year its captive, the Minotaur – Ariadne’s brother – demands blood.When Theseus, Prince of Athens, arrives as a sacrifice to the beast, Ariadne sees in him her chance to escape. But helping Theseus kill the monster means betraying her family and country, and Ariadne knows only too well that drawing the attention of the mercurial gods may cost her everything.In a world where women are nothing more than the pawns of powerful men, will Ariadne’s decision to risk everything for love ensure her happy ending? Or will she find herself sacrificed for her lover’s ambition?ARIADNE gives a voice to the forgotten women of one of the most famous Greek myths. Beautifully written and completely immersive, this is an exceptional debut novel.Praise for Jennifer Saint and ARIADNE:’Exquisitely written and exceptionally moving, this is a mythical retelling to savour.’ – Elodie Harper, author of THE WOLF DEN’ARIADNE gives voice to the misused Princess of Crete who betrayed her father to save Theseus from the Minotaur. Relevant and revelatory.’ – Stylist’With her wonderfully executed debut that reimagines the classic tale of Theseus, Adriane and the Minotaur, Jennifer Saint joins the likes of Madeline Miller and Pat Barker in forging mesmerising retellings of ancient Greek myths from a female perspective.’ – Waterstones.com’Saint’s immersive novel thrusts the reader straight into the heart of Greek mythology with this wonderful reimagining of the story of Ariadne.’ – iPaper’What happens after the monster is defeated and the princess leaves with the hero? Jennifer Saint’s ARIADNE is a shimmering tapestry of two sisters bound by deceit and the shadows of family history. . .With a fresh voice and keen insight, Saint adds flesh and bone to an ancient myth, drawing the reader into an uneasy world of ever-afters.’ – Yangsze Choo, New York Times bestselling author of THE NIGHT TIGER

Additional information

Weight 0.28 kg
Dimensions 28 × 128 × 196 mm
Page Count 400