Alabama Spitfire: The Story of Harper Lee and To Kill a Mockingbird

Bethany Hegedus, Erin McGuire (illustrator)

Format: Paperback / softback

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Inc

Published: 18-02-2021

Pre-order

£6.99

Nelle wouldn’t give up-not until she discovered the right story, the one she was born to tell.Finally, that story came to her, and Nelle, inspired by her childhood, penned To Kill a Mockingbird.

Available on back-order

Gift Wrapping – our gift wrapping option will be back soon

Have your books hand wrapped in our bespoke tissue paper with our kite sticker to tie it all together.

SKU: 9780063037403

Categories: ,

Description

The inspiring true story of Harper Lee, the girl who grew up to write To Kill a Mockingbird, from Bethany Hegedus and Erin McGuire. Perfect for fans of The Right Word and I Dissent. This nonfiction picture book is an excellent choice to share during homeschooling, in particular for children ages 4 to 6. It’s a fun way to learn to read and as a supplement for activity books for children.Nelle Harper Lee grew up in the rocky red soil of Monroeville, Alabama. From the get-go she was a spitfire.Unlike most girls at that time and place, Nelle preferred overalls to dresses and climbing trees to tea parties. Nelle loved to watch her daddy try cases in the courtroom. And she and her best friend, Tru, devoured books and wrote stories of their own. More than anything Nelle loved words. This love eventually took her all the way to New York City, where she dreamed of becoming a writer. Any chance she had, Nelle sat at her typewriter, writing, revising, and chasing her dream. Nelle wouldn’t give up-not until she discovered the right story, the one she was born to tell.Finally, that story came to her, and Nelle, inspired by her childhood, penned To Kill a Mockingbird. A groundbreaking book about small-town injustice that has sold over forty million copies, Nelle’s novel resonated with readers the world over, who, through reading, learned what it was like to climb into someone else’s skin and walk around in it.

Additional information

Weight 0.209 kg
Dimensions 254 × 254 mm
Page Count 40