The Book Of Echoes

An astonishing debut. 'Impassioned. Lyrical and affecting' GUARDIAN

Rosanna Amaka author

Format: Hardback

Publisher: Transworld Publishers Ltd

Published: 27th Feb '20

£12.99

or

Available to order, but very limited on stock. If we have issues obtaining a copy, we will let you know..

A sweeping, uplifting and inspirational story of how a boy from Brixton and a girl from Lagos reinvent their lives in modern-day London. For readers of SMALL ISLAND, SWING TIME and AMERICANAH.

SHORTLISTED FOR THE AUTHOR'S CLUB FIRST NOVEL AWARD
SHORTLISTED FOR THE RSL CHRISTOPHER BLAND PRIZE
SHORTLISTED FOR THE HWA DEBUT CROWN AWARD

'A new classic' SARA COLLINS, author of THE CONFESSIONS OF FRANNIE LANGTON
'A gorgeous book' ALEX WHEATLE, author of BRIXTON ROCK
_____________

Brixton 1981. Sixteen year-old Michael is already on the wrong side of the law. In in his community, where job opportunities are low and drug-running is high, this is nothing new.

But when Michael falls for Ngozi, a vibrant young immigrant from the Nigerian village of Obowi, their startling connection runs far deeper than they realise.

Narrated by the spirit of an African woman who lost her life on a slave ship two centuries earlier, her powerful story reveals how Michael and Ngozi's struggle for happiness began many lifetimes ago.

Through haunting, lyrical words, one unforgettable message resonates: love, hope and unity will heal us all.
___________________

'A searing, rhapsodic novel. Filled with beauty, devastation and the power of ancestral connections that ripple through the ages'
IRENOSEN OKOJIE, author of NUDIBRANCH
'Lyrical and affecting' GUARDIAN
____________
Readers' love THE BOOK OF ECHOES:

'A powerful and honest debut which is going to stay with me for a long time' *****

'You can feel Amaka's passion rising off the page' *****

'BRILLIANT, thoughtful and masterfully crafted' *****

'Oh my goodness, the book itself is even more beautiful and haunting than the cover' *****

BEST NEW FICTION: A beautifully written testament to oppression that reverberates across the centuries. * DAILY MAIL *
Searing and rhapsodic. Filled with beauty, devastation and the power of ancestral connections that ripple through the ages * IRENOSEN OKOJIE *
Bewitching. I almost felt like I time-travelled back into Brixton 1981. A gorgeous book - totally recommended. * ALEX WHEATLE, author of BRIXTON ROCK *
An absorbing debut * SUNDAY EXPRESS *
Impassioned. Lyrical and affecting * GUARDIAN *
Powerfully redemptive * INDEPENDENT *
Fierce and poignant * TATLER *
BEST BOOKS for FEBRUARY * COSMOPOLITAN MAGAZINE *
Powerful, impassioned, thought-provoking * DAILY MAIL Staycation Sensations *
A beautiful rich story that shows how hope can get people through the worst of times * PRIDE MAGAZINE *
A breath-taking read. Both intimate and sweeping * LOUISE HARE, author of THIS LOVELY CITY *
Bewitching. I almost felt i'd time-travelled back to Brixton in the 1980s. Highly recommended * ALEX WHEATLE, author of BRIXTON ROCK *
A breath-taking read. Both intimate and sweeping' * LOUISE HARE, author of THIS LOVELY CITY *

ISBN: 9780857526717

Dimensions: 222mm x 144mm x 35mm

Weight: 498g

384 pages